Social Login with Google+

Follow

Introduction

Social Login with Google+ allows an end-user to access the service from the Splash Portal, using Google credentials when Google+ is enabled.
This article is an example of configuration from the Control Panel and the related end-user experience on the Splash Portal side, showing the potential of the platform and the Social Marketing application.

 

Control Panel configuration

This is a step-by-step example on how to configure your Venue for the Google+ login

Configuring your Venue with Social Login

In order to allow your end-users to log in with Google credentials to your Venue, you have to properly configure your Access Template. For this reason, first you need to find the Access Template associated with your Splash Portal.
You can do this by clicking the Venue button in the quick access toolbar and then finding your Venue in the list. In the short summary of the Venue name, you can read the name of the Access Template used.

So find the name of your Access Template and go to the Social Login tab. This is your basic configuration from the Social Login.


We are going to use the following configuration, where all "socials" are enabled:

Enable: Yes
Social Login validation: Send a text message / Do a call
Enable Facebook: Yes
Enable LinkedIn: Yes
Enable Twitter: Yes
Enable Google+: Yes
Enable VKontakte: Yes

In this case the configuration is set at the Tenant level.

 

Configuring the Social Marketing application

If the Social Marketing application is enabled on your Tenant or Venue, then you can also take advantage of advanced "social" features, such as setting a URL where the end-user can add "+1" before accessing the service. This is a very interesting tool that allows you to get value from your venue.
However, if you don't have the Social Marketing application installed or configured on your Tenant or Venue, then the Social Login will work with standard features.
You can find the Social Marketing application in the Control Panel, in the Marketplace section.

In our case we are going to set the application In the Tools section, to ask the end-user to add "+1" to a URL. We will set the "Optional" mode, so the end-user can also go online without adding "+1". We are going to use the following configuration:

+1: Yes
Mode: Optional
Page Url: http://www.cloud4wi.com/

 

End-user experience

In the scenario described above, we are going to login with Google+ credentials for the first time.

 

Logging in to the Splash Portal

If Google access has been enabled in the Control Panel, as we did in the "Configuring your Venue with Social Login" paragraph, then the "Google+ Login" button appears in the Splash Portal.
By clicking this button, it is possible to access Internet by providing Google credentials.

After this, the end-user is redirected to the Google web site, where it is required to enter access credentials for the social network in order to go ahead with the procedure.
The authentication process is performed totally outside our platform. This means that the Solution will not process or store access credentials for any social network supported by the Social Login feature.

If Google recognizes access credentials, then the end-user is able to access Internet, according to the associated Internet plan.
Anyway for the first access, the end-user needs to take the necessary steps to use the service correctly.

Giving Google permissions during the first access

The Social Login feature is based on a Google+ application called "Cloud4Wi Social Login", that acts as an intermediate layer between Google and Cloud4Wi.
As we mentioned, the end-user submits access credentials to Google. After this, the "Cloud4Wi Social Login" application checks if data are valid or not, and communicates this information to Google. If data is valid, the application also communicates some end-user's personal data (such as first name, last name, gender, email address, birthday, birthplace, username etc.), that is required by Cloud4Wi for the proper creation of the end-user's account and allows posts to the Google+ profile.
According to Google+ policies, when an end-user has access for the first time, he is asked to authorize the "Cloud4Wi Social Login" application to do all these steps. The application may ask for additional permissions in the future.

 

Validating a mobile phone during the first access

When configuring the Control Panel, we set the Social Login validation option to "Send a text message / Do a call". This will cause the Splash Portal to ask the end-user for his mobile phone number.
It is also possible to set Cloud4Wi to send a code to the end-user’s mobile phone and ask him to enter it into the Splash Portal (by setting Social Login validation option set to "Receive code via SMS") or simply to skip the validation step (by setting Social Login validation option set to "None").

As mentioned before, the current value of the Social Login validation option is "Send a text message / Do a call". So the end-user is asked to call or send a text message to a free number, in order to confirm the provided phone number.

After this step, the registration is complete.
As already mentioned, the end-user will not be asked in the future to validate his mobile phone number if the validation has been successfully completed.

 

Social Marketing features: Google +1

The authorization of "Cloud4Wi Social Login" application and the mobile phone number validation are asked only the first time, but the Social Marketing application on the Splash Portal side is executed according to the application settings.
In this case we configured a URL page where the end-user can add "+1".
We set up Mode to "Optional", so the end-user is not forced to add "+1", but this window will be prompted until the end-user adds "+1".


Everything has been done, so the end-user is online.

On the Google+ profile, the end-user is able to see the URL added as "+1". In order to learn more about profiles, please refer to Google+ Help.

Another way to check "+1" is using online tools that allow you to count the number of “+1” associated. You can check this number just before and after a login.
For example, you can use Google Plus One Checker.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments