Social Login with VKontakte

Follow

Introduction

Social Login with VKontakte allows an end-user to access the service from the Splash Portal, using VKontakte credentials.
This article is an example of configuration from the Control Panel and the related end-user experience on the Splash Portal side, showing the potential of the platform.

 

Control Panel configuration

This is a step-by-step example on how to configure your Venue for the VKontakte login.

Configuring your Venue with Social Login

In order to allow your end-users to log in with VKontakte credentials in your Venue, you have to properly configure your Access Template. For this reason, first you need to find the Access Template associated with your Splash Portal.
You can do this by clicking the Venue button in the quick access toolbar and then finding your Venue in the list. In the short summary of the Venue name, you can read the name of the Access Template used.

So find the name of your Access Template and go to the Social Login tab. This is your basic configuration from the Social Login.


We are going to use the following configuration, where all "socials" are enabled:

Enable: Yes
Social Login validation: Send a text message / Do a call
Enable Facebook: Yes
Enable LinkedIn: Yes
Enable Twitter: Yes
Enable Google+: Yes
Enable VKontakte: Yes

In this case the configuration is set at the Tenant level.

 

End-user experience

In the scenario described above, we are going to login with VKontakte credentials for the first time.

 

Logging in to the Splash Portal

If VKontakte access has been enabled in the Control Panel, as we did in the "Configuring your Venue with Social Login" paragraph, then the "VKontakte Login" button appears in the Splash Portal.
By clicking this button, it is possible to access Internet by providing VKontakte credentials.

After this, the end-user is redirected to the VKontakte web site, where it is required to enter access credentials for the social network in order to go ahead with the procedure.
The authentication process is performed totally outside our platform. This means that the Solution will not process or store access credentials for any social network supported by the Social Login feature.

If VKontakte recognizes access credentials, then the end-user is able to access Internet, according to the associated Internet plan.
Anyway for the first access, the end-user needs to take necessary steps to use the service correctly.

Giving VKontakte permissions during the first access

The Social Login feature is based on a VKontakte application called "Cloud4wi Social Login", that acts as an intermediate layer between VKontakte and Cloud4Wi.
As we mentioned, the end-user submits access credentials to Twitter. After this, the "Cloud4wi Social Login" application checks if data is valid or not, and communicates this information to Cloud4Wi. If data is valid, the application also communicates some end-user's personal data (such as first name, last name, gender, email address, birthday, birthplace, username etc.), that is required by Cloud4Wi for the proper creation of the end-user's account and allows posts to the VKontakte profile.
According to VKontakte policies, when an end-user has access for the first time, he is asked to authorize the "Cloud4wi Social Login" application to do all these steps. If the end-user accepts this, then no further authorizations are asked in the future.

 

Validating mobile phone during the first access

When configuring the Control Panel, we set the Social Login validation option to "Send a text message / Do a call". This will cause the Splash Portal to ask the end-user for his mobile phone number.
It is possible also to set Cloud4Wi to send a code to the end-user's mobile phone and then ask him to enter it into the Splash Portal (by setting Social Login validation option set to "Receive code via SMS") or simply to skip the validation step (by setting Social Login validation option set to "None").

As mentioned before, the current value of the Social Login validation option is "Send a text message / Do a call". So the end-user is asked to call or send a text message to a free number, in order to confirm the provided phone number.

After this step, the registration is complete.
As already mentioned, the end-user will not be asked in the future to validate his mobile phone number if the validation has been successfully completed.
So everything has been done and the end-user is online.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments