Social Login with Instagram

Follow

Introduction

Social Login with Instagram allows an end-user to access the service from the Splash Portal, using the Instagram credentials.
This article is an example of configuration from the Control Panel and the related end-user experience on the Splash Portal side, which shows the potential of the platform.

 

Control Panel configuration

This is a step-by-step example on how to configure your Venue for the Instagram login.

Configuring your Venue with Social Login

In order to allow your end-users to log in with Instagram credentials to your Venue, you should properly configure your Access Template. For this reason, first you need to find the Access Template associated with your Splash Portal.
You can do this by clicking on the Venue button in the quick access toolbar and then finding your Venue in the list. In the short summary of the Venue name, you can read the name of the Access Template used.

So find the name of your Access Template and go to the Social Login tab. This is your basic configuration from the Social Login.


We are going to use the following configuration:

Enable: Yes
Social Login validation: Send a text message / Do a call
Enable Instagram: Yes
Other login methods based on social networks are disabled.

In this case the configuration is set at the Tenant level.

 

End-user experience

In the scenario described above, we are going to login with Instagram credentials for the first time.

 

Logging in to the Splash Portal

If Instagram access has been enabled in the Control Panel, as we did in the "Configuring your Venue with Social Login" paragraph, then the "Instagram Login" button appears in the Splash Portal.
After clicking on this button, the user can access Internet by providing Instagram credentials.

After this, the end-user is redirected to the Instagram web site, where he is required to enter access credentials for the social network in order to go ahead with the procedure.
The authentication process is performed totally outside our platform. This means that the Solution will not process or store access credentials from any social network supported by the Social Login feature.

If Instagram recognizes access credentials, then the end-user is able to access Internet, according to the associated Internet plan.
Anyway for the first access, the end-user needs to take the necessary steps to use the service correctly.

Giving Instagram permissions during the first access

The Social Login feature is based on a Instagram application called "WiFi Social Login", that acts as an intermediate layer between Instagram and Cloud4Wi.
As we mentioned, the end-user submits access credentials to Instagram. After this, the "WiFi Social Login" application checks if data is valid or not, and communicates this information to Instagram. If data is valid, the application also communicates some end-user's personal data (such as first name, last name, gender, email address, birthday, birthplace, username etc.), that is required by Cloud4Wi for the proper creation of the end-user's account and allows posts to the Instagram profile.
According to Instagram policies, when an end-user has access for the first time, he is asked to authorize the "WiFi Social Login" application to do all these steps. The application may ask for additional permissions in the future.

 

Validating a mobile phone during the first access

When configuring the Control Panel, we set the Social Login validation option to "Send a text message / Do a call". This will cause the Splash Portal to ask the end-user for his mobile phone number.
It is also possible to set Cloud4Wi to send a code to the end-user’s mobile phone and ask him to enter it into the Splash Portal (by setting Social Login validation option to "Receive code via SMS") or simply to skip the validation step (by setting Social Login validation option to "None").

As mentioned before, the current value of the Social Login validation option is "Send a text message / Do a call". So the end-user is asked to call or send a text message to a free number, in order to confirm the provided phone number.

After this step, the registration is complete.
As already mentioned, the end-user will not be asked in the future to validate his mobile phone number if the validation has been successfully completed.

Everything has been done, so the end-user is online.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments