Social Login with Pinterest

Follow

Introduction

Social Login with Pinterest allows an end-user to access the service from the Splash Portal, using a Pinterest social account.
This article is an example of configuration from the Control Panel and the related end-user experience on the Splash Portal side, which shows the potential of the platform.

 

Control Panel configuration

This is a step-by-step example on how to configure your Venue for the Pinterest login.

Configuring your Venue with Social Login

In order to allow your end-users to log in with Pinterest credentials to your Venue, you should properly configure your Access Template. For this reason, first you need to find the Access Template associated with your Splash Portal.
You can do this by clicking on the Venue button in the quick access toolbar and then finding your Venue in the list. In the short summary of the Venue name, you can read the name of the Access Template used.

So find the name of your Access Template and go to the Social Login tab. This is your basic configuration from the Social Login.


We are going to use the following configuration:

Enable: Yes
Social Login validation: Send a text message / Do a call
Enable Pinterest: Yes
Other login methods based on social networks are disabled.

In this case the configuration is set at the Tenant level.

End-user experience

In the scenario described above, we are going to login with Pinterest credentials for the first time.

 

Logging in to the Splash Portal

If Pinterest access has been enabled in the Control Panel, as we did in the "Configuring your Venue with Social Login" paragraph, then the "Pinterest Login" button appears in the Splash Portal.
After clicking this button, the user can access Internet by providing Pinterest credentials.

After this, the end-user is redirected to the Pinterest web site, where it is required to enter access credentials for the social network in order to go ahead with the procedure.
The authentication process is performed totally outside our platform. This means that the Solution will not process or store access credentials from any social network supported by the Social Login feature.

Please consider the case where the end-user enters Pinterest credentials to login.
Facebook, Google+ and Twitter login are particular cases, detailed in the next paragraph.
If Pinterest recognizes access credentials, then the end-user is able to access Internet, according to the associated Internet plan.
Anyway for the first access, the end-user needs to take the necessary steps to use the service correctly.
The Social Login feature is based on a Pinterest application called "WiFi Social Login", that acts as an intermediate layer between Pinterest and Cloud4Wi.
As we mentioned, the end-user submits access credentials to Pinterest. After this, the "WiFi Social Login" application checks if data is valid or not, and communicates this information to Pinterest. If data is valid, the application also communicates some end-user's personal data (such as name and followers), that is required by Cloud4Wi for the proper creation of the end-user's account.
According to Pinterest policies, when an end-user has access for the first time, he is asked to authorize the "WiFi Social Login" application to do all these steps. The application may ask for additional permissions in the future.

 

Logging in with other social credentials in the Pinterest login process

As of November 2015, Pinterest shows some buttons that allow the end-user to login by using access credentials of Facebook, Google+ or Twitter.
Please note that in these cases there is a Pinterest account involved during the login process, since Pinterest Pinterest handles the authorization process with Facebook, Google+ and Twitter credentials.
In particular, if the Facebook / Google+ / Twitter account is not linked to any Pinterest account, you will see an error displayed even if these credentials are correct. So, the pre-requisite is: the Facebook / Google+ / Twitter account used must be linked to a Pinterest account.

If you want to learn more regarding how to link a Facebook, Google+ or Twitter account to an existing Pinterest account, please refer to the following article on the Pinterest Help Center: Edit your settings, then click on the "Social networks" radio button to get the specific information.

It is important to state that, in order to allow these processes, it is necessary to enable the walled garden for Pinterest, Facebook, Google+ and Twitter. Otherwise, end-users will not be able to view the proper login box.
You will find this note also in the following page: Walled Garden for the Social Login (web sites/domains to open).

Known issues

As of November 2015, we found an issue during the Pinterest login process where the end-user is redirected to the Pinterest timeline, in order to complete the configuration of the profile. Unfortunately, after this action, the end-user is not redirected back to the Splash Portal and is not able to go online.

We found this issue after the end-user has clicked on the "Pinterest login" on the Splash Portal, specifically in the following situations:

  • When the end-user clicks on "Sign up now" in the Pinterest login box and creates the account.
  • When the end-user logs in with Facebook, Google+ or Twitter by providing some access credentials that have already been linked to a Pinterest account. In some situations the profile configuration appears not to be complete and then Pinterest asks the end-user to finish that.

A way to overcome this issue could be opening a new browser window, going to the Splash Portal in this window without clearing the cookies, and then clicking on the "Pinterest login" again.
Please note that this workaround will not work on some particular devices (for example iOS, when using the CNA Browser).

We never experienced this kind of issue with a Pinterest account that was registered before not using Facebook, Google+ or Twitter credentials.

 

Validating a mobile phone during the first access

When configuring the Control Panel, we set the Social Login validation option to "Send a text message / Do a call". This will cause the Splash Portal to ask the end-user for his mobile phone number.
It is also possible to set Cloud4Wi to send a code to the end-user’s mobile phone and ask him to enter it into the Splash Portal (by setting Social Login validation option to "Receive code via SMS") or simply to skip the validation step (by setting Social Login validation option to "None").

As mentioned before, the current value of the Social Login validation option is "Send a text message / Do a call". So the end-user is asked to call or send a text message to a free number, in order to confirm the provided phone number.

After this step, the registration is complete.
As already mentioned, the end-user will not be asked in the future to validate his mobile phone number if the validation has been successfully completed.

Everything has been done, so the end-user is online.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments